Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Young Professional wanting a 07 A4. Worth it?

btc33btc33 Member Posts: 2
I am a young professional who makes $46,000 a year. I am not a big fan of Accords, Camrys, etc but I am needing something with good gas mileage. I am looking to spend around $18,000 on a car. I really like the 07 A4 but I have heard many mixed reviews about them.

1. They burn oil too fast. Is this a big issue? I don't mind keeping a bottle in the trunk but I don't want it to be too costly.

2. They are not reliable. I will hopefully be getting one that still has a warranty on it, but I have heard they are very expensive to fix.

I know I can afford an Audi, I just wan't to make sure I am not getting a car that 1) I can't afford maintenance on and 2) it will break down often.

Also, can anyone give some suggestions about any other entry level luxury car I should go to? Lexus, Acura, etc. Or if there is a lower end car that has become nicer recently.

Comments

• kinctkinct Member Posts: 59
    Buying used is a crapshoot. I bought my 2007 A4 "brand new" in July 2008 - the car had a lot of options, pushing it's price up, plus it was a "manual" and therefore "less desirable" (haha, not for me, the exact opposite was true!). So, I got a great deal on the car. Nearly 49000 miles later, here is the full list of what has gone wrong with the car:

Um, yep, that's what's gone wrong. No excessive oil burn (really none noticeable whatsoever, but I am sure it burns SOME oil). I change my oil (myself) every 5000 miles (Mobil 0w40, Audi filter). No dipped headlights, no nothing.