Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

DEF Jam V: Running It To Empty - 2014 Ram 1500 EcoDiesel Long-Term Road Test

Edmunds.comEdmunds.com Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 10,315
edited April 2015 in Ram
imageDEF Jam V: Running It To Empty - 2014 Ram 1500 EcoDiesel Long-Term Road Test

Once again, it's time to add more diesel exhaust fluid (DEF) after our 2014 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel, but this time we ran it down low first.

Read the full story here

Comments

• yellowbalyellowbal Member Posts: 234
    edited April 2015
    Would it be easier to get DEF at truck stops? They sell it from a pump and last I checked it was $2.59/gallon.
  • gslippygslippy Member Posts: 514
    Good article. As an EV driver, I appreciate the comparison, and I'm glad to see DEF is that easy to deal with.
  • jstrauch81jstrauch81 Member Posts: 64
    Whatever happened to the ticking engine problem?
  • darthbimmerdarthbimmer Member Posts: 606
    If I read this correctly, all the drama around adding DEF was completely staged. An ordinary truck owner could buy DEF in the cost-effective 2.5 gallon packages, keep a spare or two in the garage, and simply add one every time the DEF gauge drops below, say, 50%. Or is there some problem with fluid shelf-life or refilling the truck's tank too soon?
  • steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
    The posters over in the What Would It Take for YOU to buy a diesel car? discussion think your math is off by a couple of decimal points @actualsize - try double-checking and see if you wind up with approximately 0.0058 a mile (i.e. a little bit more than one-half cent a mile, not 0.52 cents per mile).
  • jstrauch81jstrauch81 Member Posts: 64