Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

1999 F250SD CC, Diesel

pociskpocisk Member Posts: 12
edited March 2014 in Ford
I'm thinking about buying a 1999 F250SD Crew Cab wit Lariat package, 4x4, automatic and 100,000 miles on it.
The asking price is 19,950.
What do you think. I have only seen pictures of the truck and it seems to be in a perfect condition.

When i go there what should I look for?
Any specific tips on buying a diesel truck.
It's my first time.
Thanks a lot.

Comments

• Options
    Give me some advice, guys.
    I'm supposed to go test it on Saurday.
    Thanks.
  • Options
    mullins87mullins87 Member Posts: 959
    Do you know if it is an early '99 or a '99.5? It does make a difference. Each one has its good and bad points. I have a '99 and think it's great, but there are others out there that swear the early '99 model is junk. Proper maintenance is paramount on a diesel, especially with an auto. Diesels are bad about chewing through torque convertors due to their high torque engines, we're talking about 500ftlbs!!! Make sure that tranny has had its fluid changed at least every 30k miles. Ask if SCA levels have been maintained in the cooling system. The SCA's are coolant additives designed for diesel engines and their specific coolant needs. The SCA's in this case are referred to as "FW-15" in the owners manual. "FW-15" has been replaced with "FW-16", just in case you need to know. Ask what kind of oil has been used in it. Regular automotive oil won't cut it in a diesel. You have to use oil rated for diesel engines. Look for signs of a fifth wheel or gooseneck hitch. If it has had one, ask what the truck pulled. A heavy trailer could mean a new tranny in the not-to-distant future.