Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

All of a sudden van throwing 18 codes??

ayden05ayden05 Member Posts: 3
edited May 2017 in Chevrolet
My Chevy venture about a month ago overheated, cracked radiator. I replaced radiator and traced the problem. It had to be temp sensor, so I replaced it as well. After starting it up it started making this tapping sound in rear of engine and threw 18 codes. One is a cylinder 4 misfire, majority of rest seem to be sensors (throttle position, mass air, O2, etc.) It seems unlikely all of a sudden all my sensors went out. I'm a beginner at fixing my own vehicle simply because I have no choice at this point, but wondering if it could be something else. I do not have a multi meter, but do have a voltage detector and wires are all testing good. Also I can only drive it till warm, then has acceleration issue (slow and bucks a bit). If hold speed no issues. If I turn on a/c while driving, engine overworks and it dies P.s. still overheats. Fan will not cut on when hot

Best Answer

• Options
    thecardoc3thecardoc3 Member Posts: 5,747
    Answer ✓
    ayden05 said:

My Chevy venture about a month ago overheated, cracked radiator. I replaced radiator and traced the problem. It had to be temp sensor, so I replaced it as well.

You probably had a P0117, Coolant Temperature Sensor voltage low. That doesn't have to be a failed sensor or even circuit. The sensor resistance decreases as the engine temperature increases, which causes the circuit voltage to decrease. When the engine overheated, it easily may have gotten so hot that the sensor signal decreased to the point that it generated a trouble code. For a tech the advantage of that is the Freeze Frame data would have stored just how hot the engine was at that point in time.
    ayden05 said: