Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Nissan Qashqai (Rogue)

jammy435643jammy435643 Member Posts: 5
edited July 2023 in Nissan
Hi.

Newbie here. I'm getting a ticking sound, and I'm not sure exactly what it could be, or what I can do.

I should point out that this happens even when the engine has warmed up.

Here's a video showing the noise
https://youtube.com/shorts/h4MJp0_8XP4?feature=share

I've already taken it to my car garage and asked them to take a look, and they said nothing was wrong (https://ibb.co/R7TrmxP)

I've also tried tightening the bolts on the fuel injectors, as my neighbour said it could be that. A bit of gas leaked out into the engine bay area, i tried to soak it up, but I'm guessing it's safe to start after it's dried?

Any suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    thecardoc3thecardoc3 Member Posts: 5,747
    Trying to figure out a noise from a video alone is unlikely to be accurate. Using tools like a stethoscope, or even a hose or a screwdriver to help listen to and pinpoint the source of a sound will yield more accurate results. It's possible you are hearing the high pressure fuel pump, since the frequency of the sound and the fact that the clicking appears to be the loudest when the pump is centered in the video. GDI high pressure fuel pumps are noisy. That's why most of them are wrapped in foam (black in your video) to try to muffle the sounds that they produce. If you can use one of the other methods to pinpoint the noise to the high pressure pump and if there are no other symptoms consider it normal.
  • Options
    Thanks for your reply.
    I've got it booked in for another look at the garage.
    I should mention that the sound seems to go away when i give the car some revs.

I'll try and do the screwdriver/hose method myself.
  • Options
    edited August 2023