Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Mazda Protege Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• Options
    jstandeferjstandefer Member Posts: 805
    Let me know if that "gorilla snot" works. I have been battling the weatherstripping on the rear doors for well over two years now, and it gets annoying everytime I have to push it back into the groove, since it takes a while per door to do it right. However, they just keep coming back out...

My front door panels creak like an old wooden chair everytime I lean on them too. I have heard several complaints in the board about the same problem. Let us know if reattaching the door panels solves the problem!
  • Options
    maltbmaltb Member Posts: 3,572
    It works! but application can get a bit messy. If you have to keep resetting the WS, I'd put a little on there. The stuff holds like contact cement so it won't move once you do it. Techs have been using the stuff for years as the previous post mentioned. You'll undestand the slang of it once you see it.

:)
  • Options
    chikoochikoo Member Posts: 3,008
    but there is a TSB on weatherstriping - did you guys not see it?

Jstandefer - the doors creak 'cause there is no foam between the door paint and the panel vinyl. so they creak when they rub. A Dealer should do it free of cost.
  • Options
    You are right Chikoo. Here is the TSB text:

1. Detach the weatherstrip from the top/side portion of the door.
    2. Clean the weatherstrip channel with isopropyl alcohol.
    3. Apply a 1/4 inch bead of clear RTV silicone in the weatherstrip channel.
    4. Reinstall weatherstrip into the channel and apply pressure in the
    effected area, making sure that the silicone makes even contact with
    the weatherstrip.
    NOTE:
    * Verify weatherstrip is completely inserted into the channel.
    * Check weatherstrip at belt line for a firm fit against the door