Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Honda Civic Real World MPG

Comments

• Options
    rockthompsonrockthompson Member Posts: 3
    I got rid of my 2003 Nissan SE-R because I was getting 22 MPG in town and 31 on the highway. We got a new 2006 civic ex that was suppose to be 30/40. First tank was 29 mpg.... then 25...now we are consistantly getting 23..... HELP!
    the dealers says it's the cold weather and break in period. I say that is crap!!!! I have been driving for 30 years and have had plenty of 4 cyl. Cars that don't crap out in the cold as car as MPG's.
    I love everything about the car but this. The mileage is why I bought it in the first place. This is my first NEW CAR since 1988... I am highly disappointed.
  • Options
    civicex05civicex05 Member Posts: 42
    Have you installed a feedback gauge yet? If you have, has it helped you?

No, the only feedback gauge I found was ugly looking, and would clutter up the dash. For now, I'll just live without it.
  • Options
    earthearth Member Posts: 76
    I'm still getting 25 mpg city only driving, and don't press on the gas as some do. No highway driving yet, but my next car will be a hibrid or at least one that has a 35 mpg city, so that I know I will at least get 30 in the city. Keep that one until I get a Senior Citz Walker with a least two front wheels :shades:
  • Options
    newcivicmannewcivicman Member Posts: 14
    Bought my 06 civic sedan lx in october. After 2300 miles of 80% stop & go and 20% highway, I averaged 27 miles gallon overall to date. Last tank was 100% stop & go for 24.6mi/gal. I was hoping for a little better than what I'm getting. Other than MPG, I very happy with the car. The dealer told me the same thing about cold weather. We'll see.
  • Options
    warnerwarner Member Posts: 196