Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mazda RX-8 New Owner Reports

airfrance777airfrance777 Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Mazda
Hi, and thanks for the responses to my previous post re the 0-60 of the AT 2006. I decided to wait for the 2006, inquired with multiple dealers on the east coast, offered to pay MSRP and lay down a deposit, and amazingly the salesmen stopped calling me! After I had to chase them for a few weeks with no response, I gave up the ghost. I'm going for a Honda Civic coupe ex with nav and AT, I know not the same car, but I really wanted the AT and nav, no other coupes on the market with a back seat made the grade, and the 30/40 mpg will be OK too. Too bad about the RX-8 but I may try again when the "speed" version is released, hopefully mazda will cater to the US market and offer an AT on that. I am an experienced driver in Europe and 20 year veteran of stick shifts, but with the traffic these days and years of the stick, I am holding out for the auto

Comments

• mdw1000mdw1000 Member Posts: 171
    I'm enjoying my 05 AT. Obviously not as quick as the MT or the 06 AT, but enjoyable nonetheless. Works just fine for routine driving. I wanted a car with great handling, good looks, and fairly easy rear seat access. And if you use the paddles properly, you can keep the car in a good powerband.
  • trispectrispec Member Posts: 305
    Love my 2005 RX-8 AT. So many of the USA urban highway systems are so hopelessly clogged with traffic that having an automatic transmission is really a requirement. My 2005 RX-8 AT has only 4 speeds, but typically only 1st and 2nd are usable across the entire route of my daily commute. I try to use 4000 RPM as the minimum shift point.