Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Audi A3 - what model and accessories?

gsdgirlgsdgirl Member Posts: 2
I currently have a 1998 Audi A4 Quattro and am considering my next vehicle in the next year or so. The A3 really caught my eye.

A big question: I'm used to Quattro, but I've been driving a manual transmission for 25 years and don't want to give it up to get Quattro. Will I miss it if I get the 2.0 instead of the 3.2? Another consideration is the cost difference between the two.

Second question: Is the DSG automatic THAT great, so much so that a committed stick shift driver like me could really be happy with it? Preferably I would test drive both and compare, but if the demand for manual transmissions is low I may have difficulty finding one on a lot, so I might have to order one without driving it first.

Last question: I'm really intrigued by the open sky system, and haven't had a car without a sunroof in 15-20 years. BUT, I'm concerned about the car heating up since I have two German Shepherds. Does the sunshade make a big enough difference in keeping the heat down? We also have an Acura MDX SUV with tinted windows and that's the car we usually drive on the weekend with the dogs. I want a vehicle of my own that will fit two big dogs as well as be my commute car, so gas mileage, easy parking, and of course the "fun" factor are very important too.

Any other "must have" or "don't bother" accessories?
Tagged:

Comments

• nospam1nospam1 Member Posts: 1