Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Altima Hybrid Federal Income Tax Credit

tomscot2tomscot2 Member Posts: 33
There seems to be repeated confusion about the Federal Income Hybrid Car Energy Tax Credit so I thought try to explain it a little better. However, I am not a tax expert and you are cautioned to consult your tax advisor to determine how much if any of the tax credit you will qualify for.

The Energy Policy Act of 2005 replaced the clean-fuel burning deduction with a tax credit. A tax credit is subtracted directly from the total amount of federal tax owed, thus reducing or even eliminating the taxpayer’s tax obligation. The tax credit for hybrid vehicles applies to vehicles purchased or placed in service on or after January 1, 2006.

The credit is only available to the original purchaser of a new, qualifying vehicle. If a qualifying vehicle is leased to a consumer, the leasing company may claim the credit.

The credit is computed and given when you file your federal income tax return. It reduces your tax on a dollar for dollar basis. For the 2007 NAH (and probably the 2008 NAH purchased before 12/31/07) the credit will be $2,350. However, once 60,000 are sold it will start to be phased out.

There seem to be serveral gotchas, however, which you can read about in the article linked below "Hybrid tax credit bait and switch."

Please read all of the following links for a better understanding and speak with your tax advisor to determine if you are actually able to benefit from this credit.

Links
Current IRS Guidance (updated frequently)
Fueleconomy.gov better explanation than IRS
Hybrid tax credit bait and switch

Comments

• cptcmpostcptcmpost Member Posts: 25