Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

New Forester has problem after 800 miles, normal?

windy101windy101 Member Posts: 6
edited March 2014 in Subaru
I bought a brand new 2008 Subaru Forester about a month ago. Everything seems fine until yesterday -- I drove around in the local, and didn't even hit anything noticeably major, then I heard a loud 'pong'-- it turned out both the tire and rim broken.

I'm a new driver and don't know much about cars. I do notice that the broken part is the inside of the tire, which adjacent to the rim. The car only has around 800 miles on it.

I'll bring the car into the dealershop for repair tomorrow. But now I'm worried if the car itself has quality issue. Can anyone shine me a light -- i.e.: is the problem normal? If not, how shall I deal with the issue?

Comments

• Options
    paisanpaisan Member Posts: 21,181
    Seems odd. Definitely not a common problem. Heck I don't know of any broken rims on stock subie rims. Seems like a nasty pothole or something like that. I doubt they will replace it under warranty unfortunately, unless it looks like a defect where the rim actually broke rather than looking like an inpact.

Good luck on it.

-mike
  • Options
    aathertonaatherton Member Posts: 617
    "... brand new 2008 Subaru Forester... didn't even hit anything noticeably major, then I heard a loud 'pong'-- it turned out both the tire and rim broken.... now I'm worried if the car itself has quality issue. Can anyone shine me a light -- i.e.: is the problem normal? If not, how shall I deal with the issue?"

You hit something hard enough to ruin the tire and break the wheel. Any impact hard enough to ruin a tire is also likely to break a cast wheel. This is not a quality issue. You damaged your car and you or your insurance should pay. You should also go back and see what it took to cause this damage, so you don't do it again.