Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Car Buying Advice-Help deciding on used car

findingmywayfindingmyway Member Posts: 5
edited March 2017 in General
Hello. I'm pretty new to the car-buying scene and was wondering if anyone had any advice or recommendations for cars I should be looking into as well as just some general information.

Backstory: My last car was a 2007 Buick Lacrosse CXS that I bought used. It had a few little quirks, but was overall a solid car. My friend borrowed it once, and let's just say it doesn't drive anymore. Lesson learned, don't trust anyone haha. So I have another chance at finding the right car for the right price, and I could use some help filtering through the sheer number of cars on the market.

Here is my situation and what I'm looking for.
  • I have a good-paying job lined up, but it doesn't start until July, so I need to keep the down payment and next 5 months of payments below 2000 total if possible.
  • I'll have to be moving for this job, so a non-zero towing capacity would be appreciated, but might not be a necessity.
  • Sedans are preferred.
  • My last car had some "Luxury" features such as back-up sensors, aftermarket radio, remote start, heated seats, automatic climate control, etc. The more of these I could have, the better, but none are essential.
  • Hopefully the car would be reasonably fuel efficient, but not terribly underpowered. (Ex: a 2012 Chevy Cruze 1LT I test drove felt anemic, a 2015 Dodge Dart SXT was noticeably better, but I doubt I'd find a good match for my old 240HP Buick)
  • Cruise control is pretty important (Most of my driving is 3+ hours at a time, highway)
  • Style-wise I prefer sporty-looking cars (who doesn't?), so again, the Dart I looked at got points there.
  • What are your thoughts on recent model used cars (still under factory warranty) vs less expensive out-of-warranty cars?