Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Volkswagen Jetta Brakes and Rotors

12346»

Comments

• Options
    amanda22183amanda22183 Member Posts: 1
    I took my 2008 Jetta in for it's 20,000 mile servicing today. I got it back, and didn't read over the paperwork until I got home. They left a check list in my car for me. Everything checked out ok except my rear brakes. They said my front brakes are at 11cm and my rear brakes are at 6 cm. I don't quite have 20,000 miles on it yet. From what I have read so far this seems to be a common problem. I am NOT a mechanic in any way and need some advice on what I should do.
  • Options
    jetta7jetta7 Member Posts: 17
    If your rear brakes are wearing faster, have the parking brake lever, which is located between the front seats, checked for slack. If you pull up on the lever and it does not move very far, chances are it is adjusted too tight. As you apply the brakes in normal driving, the automatic adjuster keeps adjusting the rear brakes too tight.
  • Options
    iamglenniamglenn Member Posts: 1
    Rear brakes do wear first on all VW models except Touaregs. If you've ever had to make an emergency stop the nose of the car does not dive to the ground. Rear brake calipers compress first and with greater force to prevent nose dive braking.

53K for rears is amazing! I've seen as low as 15K and as high as 85K for the first set of rears on a Jetta. Almost all brake jobs on German cars require pads and rotors at the same time -- German car makers trade longevity for stopping power.

Slam on the brakes on a VW and you stop -- quickly. Some squeal or grind on cold or damp days is unfortunately a by product of brake dust and binding to rotors ....... some of my customers get pissed at that answer but ...... like I said -- unfortunately .....
  • Options
    bpeeblesbpeebles Member Posts: 4,085