Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Volvo S70

Comments

• vousavecvousavec Member Posts: 14
    Hello everyone - I've been browsing the forums for a couple days now. This seems like a wonderful place for finding out things about cars even the dealership or shop won't tell you!

I used to have an 850 and I loved that car! It saved my life when I was involved in an accident by a drunk driver. I needed a car asap, as I am a student in college and I am working full time this summer. I told my parents that I wouldn't settle for anything less than a Volvo (I used to think they were boxy, but after a very comfortable 16 hour ride to Florida last year combined with the tank-like inside after the accident [someone's spark plugs were on the ground], I completely changed my mind.) We tried to find something as reliable as the 850 within the amount of money I received from the insurance company. I wanted an 850, but we (my 'rents and I) jumped on the chance when we saw an S70 in the paper. We ended up paying $5,100 for it. It has ~113,000 miles (my 850 had almost 116,000.) The engine runs smoothly and the transmission feels good. The only catch was that the engine light was on because it needs a new air pump (the price was thus lowered from $6,000). (The carfax report said it failed emissions and the air pump issue has been confirmed at the dealership were the car was serviced.) My dad is a car guru, so I am lucky about that. I know the air pump is pricey, but I'm more worried about other parts, since it is fairly easy to replace yourself. That and I have a little money left over from the insurance, which leaves me room for repairs. (I apologize this is so long-winded!) I've heard good stories and horror stories about the S70. I'm hoping once the car is 'refreshed', just like the 850 was, I won't have much trouble out it for a long time. (I'm replacing the fuel, air and cabin