Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

I have $58,000 USD to spend on a high performance car. Any advice?

spock_94spock_94 Member Posts: 5
edited June 2015 in General
I've gotten around just fine on used cars but I've been saving for a new car for several years now and I feel like this should be enough to purchase a well performing aesthetically pleasing car. However now that the time has come to spend my savings nothing seems right. I had my heart set on buying the revamped 2015 mustang gt premium with all the bells and whistles.... Until I actually test drove one. Although the very poor quality salesman didn't help the car itself just wasn't satisfying to drive. It didn't have the classic gutteral roar of v8 muscle nor did it have the satisfying responsiveness of a sports car, it just felt like driving a volvo with a medium powered v8 slapped into it. Because of this I am currently starting over with researching cars in the same price range that are the same bang for the buck. The cars I am considering so far (in no particular order) are as follows: Nissan 370z Nismo, Dodge Challenger SRT392, BMW M4, Audi TTS, Mazda Miata, and the Chevrolet Corvette Stingray (basic).
My only must have is a manual transmission. Any input on the reliability and value of any of these cars or a suggestion of a car that I may be interested would be incredibly welcome.
Thanks in advance for any input you can give.

Comments

• MichaellMichaell Moderator Posts: 240,916
    Well, this is an issue I've never had to face, but I have no problem giving advice on spending other people's money. :smile:

A couple of questions:

1. How do you plan to use this car - daily driver or weekend toy?
    2. Do you plan on taking it to the track?
    3. Do you plan on taking long road trips with it?

I think the answers to those questions might shape the direction you want to go it.