Options

Mazda3 Maintenance & Repair

Comments

• Options
    ctfleactflea Member Posts: 2
    OK, so I have never owned a new car before, so perhaps this is something expected, but I have had my 3 Hatch for 3 months now (3K). It is Automatic and when cold, the shift up from 1-2 is very jerky and not at all smooth. After a couple of minutes, when the engine is warm, the shifting is fine. Is this normal?

Also, is a 3K oil change really required, as it is not mentioned in the manual at that point?

Thanks,

Colin,

PS, my AC is not overly impressive (my 96 Civic Htch is better), but as I live in SD, this is not a major issue.
  • Options
    big_guybig_guy Member Posts: 372
    I am not an expert on vehicle cooling systems ... but I am an expert on HVAC systems (I'm a mechanical engineer and design these types of systems).

A typical air conditioning system that is used to cool a building (whether it is an office, a house, a hospital, or a retail store) the discharge air temperature from the fan system is typically designed around 55 degrees. In extreme cooling environments (like an operating room) that temperature may be driven down to as low as 48 to 50 degrees. Having a system that blows "freezing" air is not reasonable and extremely expensive. If you are designing a system to cool a walk-in refrigerator or a walk in freezer, then you can get much lower discharge air temparatures ... but you are also providing serious insulation to keep the heat out and have a serious compressor to generate very low temperatures.

Having an automobile AC system that blows 55 degree air seems to be reasonable to me and it should provide a comfortable cockpit ... but it may take a while for it to cool off a black interior that has been sitting in the sun all day ... just like it takes a long time to cool off your house if you leave your blinds open all day and leave the cooling off until you get home.

Just my $.02
  • Options
    big_apple_albig_apple_al Member Posts: 1