Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda CR-V 2WD or FWD

bacardigoldbacardigold Member Posts: 2
I am new to US and right now live in NewYork. I am planning to buy a used 2003 Honda CRV LX Model. I saw a vehicle from the local listings and went to the owner for test drive. The owner says it's a 2003 Honda CRV LX and it has 4 wheel drive. When i ran the carfax report, it showed me the vehicle as Front Wheel drive. Below is the decription from carfax.

2003 HONDA CR-V LX
4 DR. WAGON/SPORT UTILITY
2.4L L4 PFI DOHC / FRONT WHEEL DRIVE

When i spoke to the owner about this, he says it's a front wheel drive and it has 4 wheel drive too. I am just confused here. Are there two models in 2003 Honda CRV LX.

The price is huge difference between 2WD & 4WD. How do i know i am not cheated here?
Please throw some lights here...

Comments

• stevedebistevedebi Member Posts: 4,098
    "The price is huge difference between 2WD & 4WD. How do i know i am not cheated here? "

Try calling your insurance agent and giving them the VIN. They can decode it to tell you if it is FWD or AWD.

The LX was available in both AWD and FWD.

I suspect that Carfax is correct, and that it is an FWD.
  • dewaltdakotadewaltdakota Member Posts: 364
    In simple terms: In normal driving, the CR-V will be using the front wheels to propel the vehicle. Once the system senses slippage, power is directed to the rear wheels.

For definitive specs on the one you're looking at, create yourself a profile, and enter the VIN on Honda's ownerlink website.
  • terry92270terry92270 Member Posts: 1,247
    Did they have a AWD lock button on the 2004?
  • kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 236,830
    AWD models have a graphic "Real Time 4WD"

Edmunds Price Checker
    Edmunds Lease Calculator
    Did you get a good deal? Be sure to come back and share!

Edmunds Moderator

"Did they have a AWD lock button on the 2004?"