Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Subaru Crew - Meet The Members II

Comments

• Options
    bsvollerbsvoller Member Posts: 528
    Thanks for the clarification. I still don't see the trailer brake issue as that big a deal, but my sense of cost is, of course, colored by the fact that we live in Colorado. YMMV.

For this region, that $600 trailer is a red herring IMHO, because practically speaking it should be offered at twice that and include the brakes you're gonna have to add... (speaking from my perspective, of course). Wasn't it Toyota's Rav4 that was marketed without a rear bumper ? Kind of brings that to mind...

I like the idea of heavier duty brakes in a tow package, but I wonder about the relative weight of the tow vehicle to the trailer, and whether you can make that make sense. I suspect, (but not being an engineer, I'll have to leave it at that), that you rapidly get to where the tow vehicle doesn't have enough mass to safely control the trailer in some situations (like a steep downgrade in slippery conditions) without having a braking effort at the trailer wheels.

Perhaps the Forester in its current incarnation is close enough to the engineering limit not to warrant a beefier tow package in practice ?

I've had apparently knowledgable people caution me about towing too big a load with a short wheelbase vehicle, because you don't have enough leverage via the tow vehicle's wheelbase to suppress sway in high cross-winds (which we also get here). While I can't comment, really, as to the veracity of their concerns, it makes some sense to me. I wouldn't tow a tall trailer behind a Forester for that reason.

I guess what I'm driving at here is that the Forester might have some limitations due to the priorities that were met and the compromises that were struck at design time.
  • Options
    rshollandrsholland Member Posts: 19,788