Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

rustproofing

paulg6paulg6 Member Posts: 1
edited April 2014 in Chevrolet
Greetings!

I'm the proud new owner of a 1971 Chevy pickup. It's a Tennesee Truck with NO RUST. I'm a Michigan driver and I bought this truck to DRIVE. I want to keep the rust off, which can be a trick in my state. Without doing a frame off, I was wondering what the best do-it-yourself method of rust prvention might be. Should I brush on a preventer? Spray on? Spraying will be tough since I want to do it all in the driveway. Bottom line, what has worked for you guys? Any product info

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    Hi Paul,

I'd say stay away from coatings and just keep the truck washed underneath if you are going to be on salted roads. The problem is you can't cover all areas where rust can start anyway. It's simply impossible short of disassembling and dunking the entire truck body. Even then you can't be sure.

So keep it clean underneath, and clean out the drain holes in your doors and truck bed. Also mud flaps might keep water from entering in the seams behind your tire wheel wells.
  • alanmakcaalanmakca Member Posts: 12
    I too tend to avoid rust sprays (just weekly undercar washes through the winter. However, I would worry that your '71 pickup won't be able to withstand a winter without treatment. They didn't build'em back then like they do now (with the galvinization process and high tech primers). I live in Toronto, where the heavy salt use in the past few years is wreaking havoc on our cars. The situation in Detroit must be similar.