Options

Ford Mustang LX - Good first car?

baltodiva81baltodiva81 Member Posts: 4
edited March 2014 in Ford
I am a college student who is looking to buy an affordable yet reliable used car. I am hoping I can find one that will last me a couple years since I still have 2 more years of college left and do not want to have to buy another one right after I graduate. I have checked out a '93 Ford Mustang LX at this dealership near me for only $4500 (including tags, title, etc). Its a 2.3L 4Cyl w/ automatic transmission (I dont know how to drive manual) and 79,000 miles on it. I have worked out the monthly payments and down payment on this car w/ the dealership and financially it fits me perfectly! I was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is a good choice mechanically speaking though? I've heard mustangs are good cars but is that just the GT model or is the LX ok too?

Comments

• Options
    ushunterkillerushunterkiller Member Posts: 1
    The 4 cylinder stangs are know as lemons!! The four cyl is infamous. I can't recommend buying one. I knew someone who owned one, and he was always having trouble with this or that needing to be replaced, including the rear axle. He rang up some major credit card debt on that POS. Later I heard from mechanics, and from watching a lemond aid program here in Ontario, that the 4 cyl mustang is on a list of used cars to avoid like the plague. So I would run. Maybe into a 8 cyl? The 302 is a legendary engine. Very wise choice for a used car since the engine will give you very few headaches mechanicaly. When you buy a used car the last thing you want to go is the engine. Albiet they are expensive to replace they tend to last longer than the four. A mustang isn't a mustang unless it has two tail pipes.
  • Options
    thedarkwolfthedarkwolf Member Posts: 70