Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Jeep Grand Cherokee Loud Noise in Rear

tlbrwbtlbrwb Member Posts: 1
edited December 2018 in Jeep
I have a 1994 grand cherokee laredo that developed a loud noise in the rear axle area. The faster you go the louder it gets. When putting the 4x4 selector in "part-time", the noise all but stops. Has anyone experienced this or have a solution to this problem. Thank you.

See Also
How 4-Wheel Drive Works

Comments

• 89cherokeenoob89cherokeenoob Member Posts: 5
    This is just my guess, but I think your spider gear in the rear axle is going bad. One question for ya... Did you get a flat with mud tires on, and if so did you use the spare tire, if so was that spare tire designed for street use?
  • bumpyroadbumpyroad Member Posts: 1
    Here is my experience:

I have been driving my 1998 Grand Cherokee for about 14 months with increasing road noise. I knew it was my rear differential going out, but figured I would hold on as long as I could due to the expense on my Jeep that has over 170k miles on it. Well in December 2007 my front pinion was sheared while driving down the highway. I guess I was lucky because it didn't explode. When I took it to get it fixed I learned that I had some special, rarer version of the differentials. They wanted to charge me $1500 for a used (100k + miles) one. I also knew I needed a new rear one, and since I could get along without the front one I just had them disconnect it from the transfer case. Well, 30 days later my rear went out. I took it in to have it fixed. Again, due to cost I was hoping to have just the rear fixed now and wait a couple of months to get the front fixed. It turns out, even though the primary torque is on the rear axle, the Jeep was not intended to work without the front axle. Thus driving only on the rear axle shortens the life to about 30 days. The company supplying the rebuilt rea