Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Lexus RX Transmission Problems

Comments

• drjondcdrjondc Member Posts: 1
    I have a used RX 300 and my transmission died. I heard through a friend their priced at $2500 (used) and to rebuilt one I got a quote of $3500. After reading your blog. I'm freaking out with the prices I heard you guys talk about, $8000. :surprise: Wow! I'm a college student and the SUV was a gift from my uncle. That way out of my price range. My friend did tell me that he heard that the ES 300 transmission was interchangeable with the RX 300 transmission. How true is that? He says that the used ES 300 transmission is half the price of the RX 300 transmission. Can that ES 300 fit my RX 300. That would be great and man that would save me lots of money.
  • la4meadla4mead Member Posts: 347
    Sorry that you had trouble. The RX's are typically very reliable, except the light-duty transmissions they tried to use in them, especially the early 300's.

First, I wouldn't waste my hard-earned college money on a used one to save $1000, because in this case, there is a high history of failures on the original transmission that came with this car, and I'd surmise a used one from a junked car would not be one of the transmissions that saw a lot of preventive care, even though they might guarantee it would work when they install it. You might pay less now, and be right back where you started a short time after the warrantee expires.

My own opinion and advice is to go with a freshly rebuilt unit, because it's likely to have been rebuilt with more modern (updated) parts than the original design (there were a lot of updates/Technical Service Bulletins after a history of warrantee issues right from the beginning), and a modernly rebuilt unit is likely to last where the original was not very durable.