Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

1954 Bel Air 6V to 12V conversion

brodiewsbrodiews Member Posts: 2
edited August 2014 in Chevrolet
Hi, a few years ago I purchased a 1954 Chevy Bel Air as a project car. I'm trying to finish what the previous owner started and change the system to a 12V system. However, I am very new at things like this but am very interested in doing the work myself. I just need to know everything that must be changed over to ensure a working electrical system. Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• isellhondasisellhondas Member Posts: 20,342
    1954 Bel Air huh? I've had two of these and I loved them.

If you want your car to stay original, I think you'll find the 6 volt system will work fine for you.

there are places that can redo your generator from 6 to 12 volts. You will have to change all of your lightbulbs, voltage regulator etc. You can leave your 6 volt horn but MAN will it be LOUD and if you use it much, you'll burn it out. You have vacuum wipers so those will be OK.

Anyone ever hear a Model A horn hooked to a 12 volt battery? WOW!
  • brodiewsbrodiews Member Posts: 2
    Thanks for your help. It's not a numbers matching car and a lot of things have already been changed on it, includeing engine, rear dif, steering column, wheels and tires, etc. I'm looking to do more customization rather than restoration. Perhaps in the future a restoration project may appear but I've got a certain vision for this car and original does not happen to be it. Thanks again and anymore info about the conversion or problems I may run into would certainly be helpful.
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481