Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mercedes-Benz M-class (ML320, ML350, ML500 and ML55) 2005 and earlier

Comments

• 3screwsloose3screwsloose Member Posts: 116
    That's just plain horse----! They cannot keep your car, "safe or not." YOU are the owner and they have NO grounds NOT to release YOUR car to YOU!
    I hope the salemans' "sure" holds up. I once had a client tell me the salesman told him there was a 500K mi warranty on the diesel engine in his M-B 300D. Because of this, after the radiator hose ruptured he drove his car in 45mi to get his warranty coverage. Boy did it cost him a bundle!
    The cylinder head cracked and the radiator had to be replaced. I am not an expert on Land Rovers but I am not sure they are much better than the earlier MLs. As we all know, the service department cannot make a silk purse out of a sows' ear, but they can try to.
    It is difficult for me to understand how the front brake pads on any 500 lasted that long. Do you live in the country? City driving negates long brake pad life. Especially a 500ML. If you didn't wear out the rotors in 46K mi, you must live in the country.
    It could be an A, or a B service. The "double wrench" usually means a B service. The B is an A with extra items. The A is an engine oil/filter change and an inspection. The oil change interval is about 10K mi. At 60K mi the fuel filter should be replaced. If the fuel pump has not been replaced at least once, the connecting fuel lines to the filter will need to be replaced. Do not try to use the original fuel lines ( 3 ) with the modified fuel filter! Even at this mileage, the factory rep may OK warranty coverage for replacing the fuel line - R&R L-H rear seat, etc. Although not officially recommended the auto trans should be serviced. There is no official interval for the auto trans.