Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

2016 Subaru Forester 2.5i Premium w/ All-Weather Pkg + EyeSight Lease Question

mrbananamrbanana Member Posts: 1
edited April 2016 in Subaru
Hi,

It's my first time leasing a car and i've been working through understanding all the intricacies online but am still a little lost. This is the deal i've been offered in California and i was wondering if the numbers look off / there is negotiating room here that i haven't understood.

I'm looking to purchase a 2016 Subaru Forester 2.5i Premium w/ All-Weather Pkg + EyeSight for an MSRP of $29,630. Here is the calculation from the dealer for my monthly payments:

Residual: 63% / $18,666.90
MF: 0.00160
Term: 36 months
Selling Price: $27,695

Capped Fees: $1,003.75 ----what's the capped fee?
Cash Capped Reduct: $1,538.33 --- what's this?
Ttl Capped Reduct: $1,538.33

Adjusted Capped Cost: $27,160.42 -- how did they come up with this number?

Total taxes: $1,045.27

Drive off: $2000

Base monthly rental: #309.25
Payment: $334.76

I have an excellent credit score and the pricing above is for 12k miles/year. They also wanted to throw in a maintenance package for $1900 but that didn't look like a good deal.

They mentioned that they are selling the car for $500 above invoice. How can i verify this and should cars usually be below invoice or much above it?

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• Options
    kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 237,297
    mrbanana said:

Hi,

It's my first time leasing a car and i've been working through understanding all the intricacies online but am still a little lost. This is the deal i've been offered in California and i was wondering if the numbers look off / there is negotiating room here that i haven't understood.