Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

GPS screen error: Application error DrFish - serious error (per the pop up)

whatfuturewhatfuture Member Posts: 46

Folks: I worked in the computer field and searched this error to no avail. It only happens with GPS on (it's on a 2013 Elantra Limited). I had not driven much or used the GPS prior to going on a recent long trip that tipped me over 1k miles.

An error pop-up msg appears that wraps on the right side around the left side. The screen locks. I can go to other modes but the screen is chopped off - it has part GPS and part whatever mode I'm in. I can power off and power on but it only goes away when the car is powered off (computer terms - complete reboot is done). I won't do that on long trips to heavier traffic states. It happened once in 300 miles to our destination and 2x coming home within two days.

Comments

• Kirstie_HKirstie_H Administrator Posts: 11,148

Have you taken it to the dealership? I presume your vehicle is still under warranty. They may need to re-install the software, at the very least.

MODERATOR /ADMINISTRATOR
    Need help navigating? kirstie_h@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.
    Share your vehicle reviews

• whatfuturewhatfuture Member Posts: 46

Thanks for responding. No. I've had so many issues with the dealership that I've got concerns going there - that took a day to get over. First I sent an email describing the error but the guy that got my email did not look at my message and called me about my interest in a new car. Then I left a voicemail for the service manager.