Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

My First Car.. Need Help Comparing

cooledwhipcooledwhip Member Posts: 1
edited July 2017 in Mitsubishi
Hey all. 17 year old male, going into senior year of high school. Looking for my first car! :).
I live in chicagoland so I need something quick. Not fast, but quick. 4 doors, automatic transmission. I want something sporty, like a sport sedan, something that I can put upgrades on.
Anyway. I'm looking at a few cars and mitsubishis look pretty sick. Evos are gorgeous obviously but I can't get a turbo car as a first car.
I'm looking at a used lancer 2015. Considering either a lancer touring or GT or something, I'm new to all of this stuff so I don't know anything about the models that were released. My main concern is that I've been told these cars aren't reliable. Is this true? I'm weary to buy one if this is true. I need a car that can last me easily 5 years. I've got 4 years of college and this one year of my senior year left. Also I will be bringing this car to chicago where I will most likely go to school, so I need it to handle city traffic.
I'm worried about the CVT. Does that mean that it's only 1 gear? I've heard CVT transmissions are only 1 gear....

My other cars I was considering: I was looking at a subaru impreza. I was looking at the 2007 model specifically because I like it. I'm just worried if it's too old and unreliable. I need something that I can use in the snow because the snow here is awful. I would rather have a subaru wrx because those are snow beasts but that's not an option. I'm considering the Lancer, Impreza, or a BMW 330i E46 or a BMW 330ci. Mainly looking at the first 3 I mentioned though. Please help. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    pensfan83pensfan83 Member Posts: 2,559