Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Should I buy Honda Accord 2003 with 207K miles ?

shawn72shawn72 Member Posts: 5
edited August 2017 in Honda
Hi, Should I buy a Honda Accord 2003 with 207K miles? How much more could it run with out major problem ? How about the maintenance cost for it ?

Thank you.

Comments

• mrbill1957mrbill1957 Member Posts: 823
    A lot is going to depend on how the car was maintained, how it was driven and what they are asking for it. Do you have any history on it?

Mrbill
  • shawn72shawn72 Member Posts: 5
    Yes they have, but I have not taken look at it yet. I first want to be sure if it is worth taking look or not. I am a student and do not want to take risk in spending more in maintenance. Also I am lured with an offer of Honda Accord 2003 at a reasonable price. This is going to be my first car and I do not have any idea about the car maintenance. Most of my friends suggest to go for less miles run car, but some say Accord can live easily more than 200k. So I am confused if I should get it or get one with less miles run.

Thank you.
  • chucko3chucko3 Member Posts: 793
    edited August 2012
    At 207K miles, the car is due for a 2nd timing belt job if it's a V6.
    If it has not be done so, the cost would be around $1K.

Other expensive maintenance items are exhaust system, air bag control module (mine went bad at 115K), steering system, etc.
    If you don't want to take risk of spending more in maintenance, I would recommend avoiding high mileage car.

I used to own an Accord 03EXv6. Maintenance costs did pick up when the car had over 100K miles.