Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Air Suspension-Lincoln Mark VII LSC

mike350mike350 Member Posts: 9
edited April 2014 in Lincoln
My 1987 Lincoln Mark VII has the air springs which
until today were perfectly trouble free. Now the
car is flat on the bottom of the springs and I am
wondering if it is driveable the short distance to
the dealer and if anyone else has had this problem.
Is it expensive?

Comments

• jnowskijnowski Member Posts: 96
    I have no personal experience with this problem, but since you imply that both sides of the car are down, it may be a simple leak in the air hoses. I believe that they are fed from a single pump, so a leak in the common air line would cause the situation you describe.
  • mike350mike350 Member Posts: 9
    Thanks for your comments. The car is now totally
    down, front and back. Initially, the air pump was working trying to keep the car level and the dealer suggested due to a hole in one of the front air springs (which would not keep inflated)so the car being "computer smart" kept the front at the same height and matched the low side by not pumping up the one good bag (spring). The dealer suggest to expect to pay $1,000 CDN to fix the problem typically. (Ouch!)
    So the car remains in the driveway looking like
    a low rider. I have been told that for less than
    a hundred dollars, the dealer can get the computer diagnostic device to tell them what is
    the problem. So will do that and see what it says.
    Mike
    Oh man is this stuff expensive! Over $2,000 CDN so far and two air springs replaced @ $240 each, an electronic control module @ $640 and lots of labour! Nice car but suspension work is scary!
    Anyone know if the 95 Town Car features similar suspension?
  • pat455pat455 Member Posts: 603
    You might try asking that question in the Town Car topic over in our Sedans conference - here is a link: