Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Why is there a huge discrepancy in the price for the 2016 Accord

humzaq1humzaq1 Member Posts: 1
edited October 2015 in Honda
I have been shopping for the 2016 Accord EX w/ Sensing in Ohio. I just dont understand the huge discrepancies in prices from one dealer to the next. Using edmunds, I found an out of state dealer offering $2600 off MSRP, another in my state for $2000 off, and my local dealer for $800 off. I decided that $2100 off MSRP, at invoice, would be a fair price to bring to my local dealer. The salesperson essentially said that price is not possible, and that if I want to use the prices of other dealers to negotiate, I need to gather valid information.

This shopping experience is just so discouraging. I'm not sure if he was simply negotiating with me, or if he truly couldn't offer that price. I would be fine with only $800 off if that's realistic. But if they're making $2,000+ simply by my act of walking in and asking for the car, thats just not fair.

Does it have something to do with the size of the dealerships? I've noticed that larger dealerships offer a smaller discount than the smaller ones?

Comments

• kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 234,725
    humzaq1 said:

I have been shopping for the 2016 Accord EX w/ Sensing in Ohio. I just dont understand the huge discrepancies in prices from one dealer to the next. Using edmunds, I found an out of state dealer offering $2600 off MSRP, another in my state for $2000 off, and my local dealer for $800 off. I decided that $2100 off MSRP, at invoice, would be a fair price to bring to my local dealer. The salesperson essentially said that price is not possible, and that if I want to use the prices of other dealers to negotiate, I need to gather valid information.