Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Negotiated a price, now what?

mark9546mark9546 Member Posts: 1
edited November 2016 in Subaru
I finally negotiated a very, very good price for an '17 iTouring Forester w/ Eyesight and a protection package, but I'm not very good with the rest of the process.
Currently, it looks like this:
Price: 30,044.00
Sales Tax $2,537.51
Tag/Reg Fees $264
Electronic Filing $29
Documentation Fee $80
Flat Add/County Fee $8
Balance Due $32,962.51

Now I go in tomorrow to finalize and pay. What can I expect? I know a warranty talk is going to happen, but I think I am fine with the 3 year for now, I heard you can always buy the warranty later as long as it's within the 3 years. I highly doubt they will discount the warranty with the price they are giving me for the car.
Anything else I should be prepared for?
What about the sales tax? Is that high? Is it calculated from the MSRP or the Dealer Price?
I'm in CA, so I expected a pretty high sales tax to start with.
But then you see edmunds pricing tool, which says to expect 3.9-4.5K for taxes and Fees on this exact model and price. wtf?
I see some people posting sales tax that seem way below the designated percentage their cities have. How is that possible?

Comments

• Options
    kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 237,185
    mark9546 said:

I finally negotiated a very, very good price for an '17 iTouring Forester w/ Eyesight and a protection package, but I'm not very good with the rest of the process.
    Currently, it looks like this:
    Price: 30,044.00
    Sales Tax $2,537.51
    Tag/Reg Fees $264
    Electronic Filing $29
    Documentation Fee $80
    Flat Add/County Fee $8
    Balance Due $32,962.51