Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Car Buying Advice - End of lease options Honda CRV 2015 LX-AWD

nutznboltsnutznbolts Member Posts: 7
edited April 2017 in Honda
Hi

I had leased a 2015 Honda CR-V LX-AWD for 24 months/12k in June 2015. My lease is coming to an end next month.

The residual value for my vehicle per the contract was $19,400.

The current market value per KBB is 15,500-16,500.

I have a moderate sized dent (not very obvious till you walk right next to the car) on my door (Door slammed against a wall while opening). This is my first time leasing a car. I was not sure if the residual value can be negotiated with Honda. I have only driven 11K miles with my SUV so far and is in good condition otherwise. I am open to both keeping the SUV or turning back in but prefer to keep it if possible.

1) Is the residual value negotiable ?
2) If I keep the car, would it be possible to negotiate the current rates for financing the residual with them ? What would be the current rates for someone with excellent credit?
3) I am moving to a bigger city where car is not a must. If I turn my car back to the dealer, how much will they charge for a 10 cm dent ? Should I try to fix the dent in a body shop before turning it in ?

I would appreciate any advice on this topic.

Thank you

Comments

• kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 237,068

Hi

I had leased a 2015 Honda CR-V LX-AWD for 24 months/12k in June 2015. My lease is coming to an end next month.

I have a moderate sized dent (not very obvious till you walk right next to the car) on my door (Door slammed against a wall while opening). This is my first time leasing a car. I was not sure if the residual value can be negotiated with Honda. I have only driven 11K miles with my SUV so far and is in good condition otherwise. I am open to both keeping the SUV or turning back in but prefer to keep it if possible.