Manual transmission advice

CTJoshCTJosh Member Posts: 22
edited October 2021 in Subaru

Hello! I’m looking for advice- I’m in my late 40s and I’m finally learning to drive stick. I’m planning on leasing a new car soon and I’d like it to be a manual transmission. I live in New England and it’s hilly where I live and some winters are extremely snowy, so I’m looking at Subaru because as far as I know they are the only manual cars with AWD. I’d like some feedback from anyone who has had a manual Impreza, Crosstrek, or WRX. The manual versions of the Impreza and Crosstrek are only in lower tiered models, so I like the options available in the WRX. However, the WRX is more expensive and I’m afraid it might be too much car for me, or the performance would be lost on me, or it would be harder to learn manual on. I had an Impreza and loved it, but I’ve read mixed things about the 5 speed including some harsh reviews. I’m not experienced enough to appreciate the difference between a 5 speed or a 6 speed as in the Crosstrek. If the manual in the Crosstrek was significantly better I would consider it, but I like the looks and ride height of the Impreza better if there’s no appreciable difference (and it’s cheaper). Thanks for your help!

Tagged:

Comments

• kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 210,260
    1) Crosstrek and Impreza are essentially the same vehicle, so yes, the Impreza gets you more bang for your buck. I wouldn't worry about 5- or 6-speed. It's mostly related to gearing. I doubt the clutch/throttle operation is any different.

2) I had an Impreza manual, and didn't love it, but that was 14 years ago, so not relevant. I'm generally not in love with Subaru manual transmissions, in general. Honda, BMW, VW all do it a lot better.