Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

'99 Silverado/Sierra vs. F-150

Comments

• Options
    smcpherrsmcpherr Member Posts: 114
    epoe,

True, heat can weaken the metal. But bolting requires drilling which creates microfractures around the hole, which can lead to failure. Most bolted metal structures I have encountered have a flat metal plate welded to one of the components, so there would be little advantage to bolting, would just create another reason for failure. Again, I am no expert on the subject, so I may still be wrong.

2sly,

I too am on my second late-model F-150. Wanna know why? I leased the first, and the lease was up this summer. I really wanted to keep it, but I also wanted 4wd, so I got the exact same truck, with 4wd. I was happy with the first, I am happy with this one. Is that a good reason to be on my second Ford? Also, scientific magazines within the automotive field do exist, and just like most truely scientific journals, you can't buy them at a magazine stand. I forget the names now, but I know they are out there. I haven't seen one devoted to trucks though. And I thought you did buy Fords for the last ?? years. Did they all suck, or was this just a "I got a lemon so now all will feel my wrath" thing?
  • Options
    BrutusBrutus Member Posts: 1,113
    It's ridiculous to say (or imply) that Ford's are poor tow vehicles. Obviously, you've never done any serious towing. I can assure you that my wimpy OHC has no problem cruising through mountain passes in Alaska with my heavy slide-in camper. It certainly isn't gutless in any part of the powerband, especially not in the 40-70 mph range when I need to pass quickly into oncoming traffic lanes on windy one way roads. I'm sure the 454 would do fine as well (and you will certainly argue, better), but to say that my Ford lacks power loaded to the max is just plain wrong.