Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Still an amateur-- what is an MG?

coffeecustardcoffeecustard Member Posts: 3
Hey everybody. I'm a translator and I suck at car models and makes and stuff... I own a blue VW Bug; that's the only car I ever fell in love with. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what "MG" means. This lady's talking about her first car, saying it was a "convertible roadster MG thing". I tried Googling it and I can tell it's so common I will look like an idiot but well I thought I'd ask here.

Will really appreciate any help on this. Thanks a lot.
Tagged:

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    It stands for Morris Garage.
  • fintailfintail Member Posts: 57,097
    British car, sold in NA til 1980, rusts at the sight of moisture, has wiring but none of it works, has metal with a propensity for oxidization, Brits drink warm beer because Lucas makes refrigerators, the cars tend to become perforated.
    Don't listen to that Teutono-phile. :P MGs are GREAT cars with tons of personality and good looks...but you need to know the best years....anything from the 1930s to 1974....after that you can just forget them.

Most famous MGs you might have heard of are the TC (the old-fashioned one with the huge wire wheels that introduced the "sports car" to America)1947-49, the MGA, the sleek, low sports car from the late 50s to mid 60s, and the best of them all, the MGB from 1965 up to 1974--still a bargain in a classic sports car and a pleasure to drive.
  • coffeecustardcoffeecustard Member Posts: 3
    Wow. Thanks a million everybody. U're all so well-versed in this... Can I ask something else? What is a "road car"?
  • coffeecustardcoffeecustard Member Posts: 3
    And what's a roadster?
  • texasestexases Member Posts: 10,685