Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevrolet Blazer Engine and Performance Problems

Comments

• vdragonflyvdragonfly Member Posts: 3
    Does anyone know how to adjust the idle for a 1993 Chevy Blazer 4WD?
  • rmizellrmizell Member Posts: 1
    Thanks man. I have been dabbling in cars for many years and would have never caught this one. I was starting to hear the noise in my sleep.
  • chrisd1970chrisd1970 Member Posts: 3
    I have a 1999 GMC Jimmy and when I first start it up and while I am idling it makes a chirping noise but once I give it the gas it seems to go away could this be my problem also? thanks
  • jlflemmonsjlflemmons Member Posts: 2,242
    Very possible. Another source could be the bearing in the idler pulley, but checking the belt is easy. Just find the labels on the belt (remember, there are two locations) and put a little silicon grease or even liquid soap on them. If the sound changes, you have found your noise.

BTW, the belt I put on that started this thread has finally shut up.
  • steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
    You don't mention how long you've been hearing the chirp, but it seems like the paint on the belt would wear off after a while and the chirp would go away on its own.

Or maybe it's especially good quality paint that doesn't wear off? :confuse:
    Thanks for your help. I had the Idler pulley replace on 5-24-07 the serpentine belt that same day and the serpentine nelt tensioner on 2-22-07. I will be taking it in once again to have the chirping checked again . I have just over 92000 miles on my 1999 jimmy. I think it might be time to start looking for a new car.
    thanks for your help I'll be having it checked :)
  • grose67grose67 Member Posts: 5