Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Correlation Between Classic Car Prices and Financial Markets

hpmctorquehpmctorque Member Posts: 4,600
Every asset class competes with every other for investor dollars. Given the sub prime and other credit problems, and the weak housing and stock markets, to what extent will the current turbulence affect classic and collector car prices?

We've noted in the Classic Cars discussions that the market for ordinary collector cars has weakened, while prices for well kept, rare classics, especially the luxury and super high end ones, have held up well. Will the declines in the housing and equity markets spread to high priced classics? The fact that they represent an asset class, like art or coins, leads me to believe that there will be a spill over, but I'm not an expert on classic car market cycles. What are your thoughts on this?
Tagged:

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    It depends how severe this so-called "recession" becomes, or if it is already correcting itself.

The "bad news" often comes late with economic cycles, so the worst may be over while the bad news is still being reported.

But in general, it has been my observation over the past 25 years that:

If the economic doo-doo really hits the fan, the FIRST thing to go are "the boys' toys".

Would a person with assets of 500 million dissolve his 50 car collection? I doubt it. Would the person with $10 million in assets? You bet hie would.
  • andre1969andre1969 Member Posts: 25,672
    at the Carlisle PA swap meet this past fall, was that there were an awful lot of Corvettes out there for sale. More than I had ever seen in the past.