Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Leasing a 2016 Mazda 3

benz895benz895 Member Posts: 12
edited February 2017 in Mazda
hello everyone, this is my first time ever leasing a car and i really need help or any advice since i barely know anything. I've been trying to juggle around numbers, and also trying to find out if I can beat the subsidized lease (159/mo for 36 month with 1999 as down payment) price because I don't wanna pay over 4000 up front (1999 down + other fees)

North NJ
2016 Mazda 3 AT iSport Sedan
MSRP: 18895 (w.o. destination)
invoice: 18083 (w.o. destination)
Destination: 835
Acquisition Fee: 595
36000 mileage

What is the residual value, and the money factor if my credit score is ~720 (im assuming it's gonna be lower when they check since I have no history of auto loans)?

Here was my original plan
Gross Cap (what i offered): 17000 --> was it too low?
Net Cap: 17000 + 595 Acq Fee + 835 Dest Fee = 18430
RV (Assuming 54%) = 10203.3
MDF = 228.52
MFC = 35.79 (Assuming APR of 3% or MF of 0.00125)
Monthly payment of 264.31/mo with 0 down, Up front Fees with only include 1st month payment and dealer fees
Total Fee over lease term would be (with 7% NJ tax but excluding dealer fees) = 10181.22

is my calculation correct? is calling 17k too low? Also I noticed there's a "Mazda Customer Lease Support" of $915 as part of the subsidized lease promotion. Can I ask for that cashback or is it for exclusively that deal only?

Thank you!

Best Answer

Answers

• MichaellMichaell Moderator Posts: 241,268
    benz895 said:

hello everyone, this is my first time ever leasing a car and i really need help or any advice since i barely know anything. I've been trying to juggle around numbers, and also trying to find out if I can beat the subsidized lease (159/mo for 36 month with 1999 as down payment) price because I don't wanna pay over 4000 up front (1999 down + other fees)