Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Won't you always lose money with tax, title, tags and fees?

tonspiketonspike Member Posts: 4
edited October 2017 in General
Please excuse my ignorance, but I'm new to car buying.

Let's say I purchase a $45,000 car and the tax, title, tags and fees come out to $5000 for a total of $50,000 paid out of pocket.

Let's say I sell this vehicle one year later, for the same $45,000 I paid for the car alone. I assume I in no way receive any of my $5,000 back from the tax, title, tags and fees--so I essentially paid $5,000 to drive the vehicle one year?

Is there something I'm missing? Thanks for your insight.

Comments

• Options
    PF_FlyerPF_Flyer Member Posts: 9,372
    I'd start with... car are not investments, unless we're talking about something "collectible". And even if you sell it as a private party and don't trade it in, you're not going to get anywhere near what you paid for it.

My point is, it's not money "lost" any more than money you spend on anything (couch, bed, lawnmower, etc) is lost.

Go to the Research tab at the top of the page and look at prices on Used Cars from last year to get an idea of how much cars depreciate
  • Options
    Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    edited October 2017
    tonspike said:

Let's say I purchase a $45,000 car and the tax, title, tags and fees come out to $5000 for a total of $50,000 paid out of pocket.

Let's say I sell this vehicle one year later, for the same $45,000 I paid for the car alone. I assume I in no way receive any of my $5,000 back from the tax, title, tags and fees--so I essentially paid $5,000 to drive the vehicle one year?