Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

2018 Rogue Oil Change

ncodmunncodmun Member Posts: 22
edited July 2018 in Nissan
I went to two different places today to try and get an oil change and both of them said that I have to use either full synthetic oil or synthetic blend for my car. I didn't believe them so then I went home and looked at the manual and it says that "genuine nissan oil 0W-20 SN is recommended" but if that is unavailable to "use an equivalent motor oil that matches the above grade and viscosity". I mean I am not a mechanic but I find that hard to believe. I read online that the reason nissan wants you to use that is to improve fuel consumption, but that it does not make a big difference and that you can use 5W30. One of the guys where I asked to change my oil said if its 5W30 then it has to be full synthetic. I don't know it just seems like a scam to me so they can get us to keep going to the dealership for oil changes. I HATE going to the dealership not because of the price but because I have to wait like weeks before I can get an appointment with them and then when I actually show up for the appointment it takes them like 2 hours to change the damn oil. I remember reading online posts like years ago and they said that there is nothing wrong with using conventional oil and that it can even be better for new cars. What are your thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 237,266
    It would be in your own interest to use the oil specified in the manual.
    There is no component of your vehicle that is more expensive to fix than the engine, and to use the wrong oil would be a good way to void the warranty.

Edmunds Price Checker
    Edmunds Lease Calculator
    Did you get a good deal? Be sure to come back and share!

Edmunds Moderator

• Options
    thecardoc3thecardoc3 Member Posts: 5,747