Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Were Old Cars more Fun Than Modern Ones?

Comments

• kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 237,100
    Yeah.. my mother's '72 Lincoln Town Coupe with the 460 4-bbl... On a newly poured two mile long road for a mall development.... very nice... in the last 1/2 mile, there is a nice downhill stretch, followed by an uphill to the end of the road...... hit 120 on that downhill.... Made the turn on to the road at about 40 mph.. squealing tires, or probably wouldn't have made it......

Ahh.... the ignorance of youth.... thank goodness for the uphill at the end.... lol

I am no professional driver, but depending on traffic, I really start paying attention at 85 mph...

Edmunds Price Checker
    Edmunds Lease Calculator
    Did you get a good deal? Be sure to come back and share!

Edmunds Moderator

• fintailfintail Member Posts: 57,165
    edited January 2012
    So it wasn't safe holding a camera and recording me going 135mph (max speed rating for the tires) in a rented diesel BMW in Germany? :shades:

I've had the fintail up to an indicated ~110 (took a lot of straight empty road), but I am certain it was no more than 100 in reality. And a few hours later, a transmission cooling line broke and the car was stranded for a few days. That'll teach me. I won't say what I have done in the E55, only to say 60-120 seems as fast as 0-60.
  • kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 237,100
    It's funny... I could tell you the actual top speed of every car in my family or that I owned up until about age 25....

Since then, I've owned cars that could actually go very fast, but haven't been over 100 mph, in any of them....

Edmunds Price Checker
    Edmunds Lease Calculator
    Did you get a good deal? Be sure to come back and share!

Edmunds Moderator