Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevrolet Impala Transmission Problems

Comments

• nicole17nicole17 Member Posts: 1
    Thanks for the information.
    Will try the exhaust resonator.

Other people on the internet say that their resonator had rusted out or had a hole in it, too.

BF said that makes a lot of sense.
    A hole in the resonator would let out too much exhaust at once.

The part costs @ $50 bucks.
  • darkfire666darkfire666 Member Posts: 8
    no your right GM should have foot the bill the whole way. did they?
  • itseruitseru Member Posts: 1
    I have a 2006 Impala also with the similar problem. i dont feel the transmission is out or needs replacing. i fear that solenoids need replacing, flushing transmission, changing transmission filter, and finaly checking computer. now i am not a professional but i do not want to spend several thousand dollars so i am just going to do all this myself... the transmissions i think were built better in late 90's and i think they fit this car.. i had a 97 gtp and put that transmission in a 04 Impala and worked pefect. ..

my car does the following. On dash does not show what gear i am in at all not even parking. does not accelerate normal and i must press more on gas to accellerate and pretty much force the car into gears(this is not too difficult)..

if you fixed your car let me know i'm barely starting to fix mine this week and i'll post what i found out as all above so far is my intuition and what i have gathered from other posts ..
  • kingschildkingschild Member Posts: 1