Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda CR-V Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• protege_fanprotege_fan Member Posts: 2,405
    LOL! I'm no mechanic...I was just listing a possibility! If you take it in to a mechanic, let us know what it turns out to be!
  • andyokstateandyokstate Member Posts: 8
  • jfigueroa1jfigueroa1 Member Posts: 209
    The a/c unit will work nice and cold when driving,but when i stop in traffic for a while the air coming out of the vents do not feel as cold. I know this has to do with heat exchange and the fan I check the fan and it works but might not be powerful enough to complete the heat exchange process. Any body else have notice this.
    greetings from sunny Miami
    As I understand it, the air conditioner compressor works off of the engine. When you stop and idle the engine, the air conditioner compressor also slows down, putting out less cold air.

For a good A/C article goto:

http://autorepair.about.com/library/weekly/aa060301b.htm?terms=car+air+condition
  • varmintvarmint Member Posts: 6,326
    Andyoskate - You probably have about 40-50K on your '98, right? It's the rear differntial fluid. Have the fluid replaced.

RT4WD uses a lubricant they call, "Dual Pump Fluid". This must be changed at regular intervals. The manual says it should be changed at 60K, but most owners find that it needs to be replaced at 40-50K.

RT4WD engages when there is a difference in speeds between the front and rear axles. When you take a sharp turn, the front and rear tires take a different path. One path is shorter than the other. So the system reacts to the difference in speeds and begins to engage. When you have bad fluid, it makes that noise.
  • sluglineslugline Member Posts: 391
    I would also definitely consider the rear-differential as a possible culprit. As it just so happens, I have a webpage up that describes my experience: