Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Stop Changing Your Oil

Comments

• Options
    nasionasio Member Posts: 1
    I agree 100% with this article. I am a mechanic and I bought a 1992 Honda Accord with a "blown" engine a few years ago. The donor engine had 85000 miles on it. I replaced the air filter, fuel filter, fuel pump, oil pump, timing belt, balancer belt, water pump, clutch assembly, spark plugs, wires, etc. I have driven the car for 159,000 miles since then, changing the oil regularly at 10,000 mile intervals with Mobil 1 synthetic. There have been no problems, no engine knocks, no rattles, no smoking, which leads me to believe that the recommended 3000 mile oil change intervals pushed by the oil change industry is bunk. I also have a 1985 Toyota pick up with the original engine still in place with 277,000 miles on the odometer. I also routinely change the oil at 10, 000 mile intervals, no problems there either. So, to all you 3000 mile oil change NUTZ out there, ya'll are being taken for a ride by the Quik Lube, Jiffy Lube oil change rascals. My name is Nasio, and I approve this message.
  • Options
    ecoplundererecoplunderer Member Posts: 2
    Follow the recommended oil changes that the manufacturer requires and keep records while a warranty exists, otherwise you will buy the failure. After that your on your own even though your Government tells you otherwise.
  • Options
    ecoplundererecoplunderer Member Posts: 2