Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

BMW 3-Series Lease Questions

Comments

• Options
    dan12dan12 Member Posts: 114
    If you want a new car every couple of years I see absolutely nothing wrong with leasing, hell, I've been leasing since the mid 1980s and have every intension of continuing that practice.

Doesn't that get extremely expensive over time? So far I have been buying my cars outright with the plan of holding on to them for 10 years. But in reality I get a new car every 4-5 years or so. I think about 6 years is my practical limit before my drooling over new cars gets excessive. So I'm trying to figure out how much more expensive it is to do 3 year leases instead of what I've been doing.
  • Options
    moochermoocher Member Posts: 5
    Hey Car_Man, My dealer tells me that with a very high credit rating (800+) that I qualify for an "Elite Tier," that, as opposed to standard rates, gives me a bit of an edge. Any idea what sort of MF discount I can expect? I thought BMW was strictly Pass/Fail?? I find nothing that speakes to this in BimmerZone, Roadfly or here??

Thanks!
  • Options
    Hi Shipo,

I think it may not make sense to buy a 328i outright right now as long as you can earn more than 3.36% (MF = .0014) +$625 acquisition costs on your money after tax. If your financing a car on an outright purchase, the interest rate would have to be low (about 4.0% as the $625 acquisition cost is really a big upfront interest expense) to beat the lease.

In a state like mine, where taxes of 9% is on the lease payment only, it's especially a no-brainer to lease. First, in terms of taxes on say a $39,000 car, again in my state, I would have to choke-up $3,510 in taxes on Day 1. Over the term of the lease, the same car at a 9% tax rate would incur only $1,500 in tax payments over the duration of the lease.