Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Firestone Wilderness Tires

Comments

• bcobco Member Posts: 756
    you got it. that's what they stand for. additionally, the LT rated tires i believe are a thicker ply tire, because they are used for towing/hauling and hence, subjected to more stress.

bco
  • truckchictruckchic Member Posts: 105
    So, LT Is probably the tire to get to last longer? I don't intend on doing a lot of towing, but I want something that will last a little while.

Thanks
    Truckchic
    ...necessarily go that far. i'm not so sure that they'll last longer or not. like i said, i believe it's just a heavier duty tire that can handle the additional stresses of towing or hauling. kinda like the old "hefty" trashbags...more plys means it can hold more and is more resistant to puncture. i'm not an expert, but i think that LT tires are better for 1/2 ton pickups anyhow. i really didn't like the way the firestones bowed out at the bottom. seemed like they were stressed by the weight of the truck alone. the LT's i have now do not do that. this could affect tire wear also...

bco
  • bookittybookitty Member Posts: 1,303
    Janet, LT or light truck tires are usually rated @ load range "C". This equivalent to the old 6 ply rating, while passenger tires for the most part are rated @ load range "B" which would work out as 4 ply. The carcass of the LT tire is heavier and more rigid (comparing with the same manufacturer for a like series).

Bookitty
  • steve234steve234 Member Posts: 460