Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda Pilot Lease Questions

Comments

• dylrexdylrex Member Posts: 111
    I'm no expert but I'll give you my opinion.
    You don't mention how many miles per year your parent's offer is for or if it's FWD, 4WD, etc.
    Let's use the below as an example.
    According to Car_man, Honda Finance's August buy rate lease money factor and residual value for a 36-month lease of a 2012 Pilot EX-L FWD with 12,000 miles per year are .00039 and 53%, respectively for consumers who qualify for its "Super Preferred" credit tier.

This vehicle has an MSRP of $35,550 and an invoice of $32,573. I would definitely shoot for a selling price of at least invoice, if not lower, and then subtract the $750 dealer cash available this month for a cap cost of $31,823.

Using those numbers I come up with a pretax payment of $380.36. Depending on your states tax rate, I'd think you should be closer to $400 per month, including tax.
    Do they know what the money down is for?
  • rockleaserocklease Member Posts: 2
    Thanks dylrex, this is very helpful. It was for a 2012 EXL 36 months, 12k.
    I'm trying to get all of the details about the down payment from them but they don't have the papers. (They are picking up the car and signing off next week.) So you think they should be paying somewhere in the neighborhood of $400 with no money done, right?

Thanks Again!
  • CarMan@EdmundsCarMan@Edmunds Member Posts: 38,514
    Hi cabledog. The dealer invoice price of the truck that you described is $34,033. If we subtract the $750 dealer cash that was available on this model last month from that, the invoice price drops to $33,283. The selling price that you were quoted is even lower than that, so that aspect of your deal looks great.