Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Volkswagen Jetta Engine Questions

Comments

• bpeeblesbpeebles Member Posts: 4,085
    I write down EVERY gallon of diesel/milage that goes into my wifes TDI.... The log is (obviously) out in the car right now and not in my hands.

I have never entered this data into a spreadsheet so it would not be trivial for me to get the data you request.

I *can* tell you that (like all other vehicles) the MPG is less in the cold weather and higher when the ambient temp. goes up.

BTW: The last 2 tankfulls registerd over 700 miles between fillups. :shades:
  • joe131joe131 Member Posts: 998
    no spreadsheet needed. just add up all the gallons put in the car from beginning mileage to end. then divide miles/gallons.
    I understand the concept (I am a computer programmer after all)

I only want to enter the numbers ONE TIME into computer... then be able to view/graph the MPG to my hearts content. Poking all those numbers into a calculator is not my idea of fun pasttime.
  • whitney26whitney26 Member Posts: 2
    :confuse: I am new to this. I have a 1.8t 2001 Jetta Wolfsburg w/ 42+miles. I was driving about 2 miles from my home and it just turned off. After starting 2x, it turned over on the 3rd time. Took it to get repair. No check engine light was not on. Today, again driving it turned off again. Returned it to repair shop, they drove it around and ran it for about an hour and it didn't turned off. I don't know what to do. The repair shop said he didn't want to repair something if nothing is not coming up on the computer. PLEASE HELP!!! Whitney. :(
    Does it do this with any of the other 3 keys which come with every VW? (2 normal keys and one "valet" key) The reason why I ask is that your problem sounds like the immobilizer may be kicking in.