Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Altima Hybrid Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• hiwaymanhiwayman Member Posts: 98
    Absolutely right. One thing that people seem to not understand is that dealerships are businesses. They need to make money to stay in business. Where the trick is for us consumers, is to find that sweet spot where we pay a decent price without getting ripped. There's a lot more than just holdbacks (I used to be a salesman...so I can tell you there are more ways to make money on a sale than you can imagine). Knowing what the possibilities are just helps you, as a car buyer, negotiate more effectively. At the end of the day, unless the car is a Yugo, or you have a history with that dealership, the dealership will always find ways to make money on the deal. They need to.

For instance, one way to sweeten the deal is to take financing from the dealer, even if it's higher than what you can get at your bank or credit union. The dealer always gets a cut of the action (a point or two, which is significant on a 30K car) on the loan. Just make sure there's no pre-payment penalty. Then go to your own lender for the better deal, and pay off the dealer's loan.
  • malttese33malttese33 Member Posts: 9
    Could you tell me which NY dealership you dealt with gave you the price of $30k for tech package w/ sunroof? and salesperson? My e-mail address is malttese333x3@yahoo.com. Thanks.

Chris
  • redturq9redturq9 Member Posts: 6
  • emgremgr Member Posts: 109
    Chris, is that the right email address? I tried to send you the info but it didn't go. let me know.

Jack