Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevy TrailBlazer Loss of power

satvicsatvic Member Posts: 8
edited February 2017 in Chevrolet
howdy all. got my 04 TB, 4.2L v6 in 06 with 13k miles, 23k miles now. was a salavage title (insurance mistake) so no warranty :( everything worked fine. So few mo later had to replace the battery since it's been sitting for a 3-4month and the stock one slowly went dead on me.

I'm a computer admin with some mechanics experience from working on Ninja 900cc..can do maintenance but not much of a troubleshooter when it comes to cars :(

I started noticing that once in a while i'd be driving in the range of 20-65m/h and have no power regardless how I push the gas pedal. Engine runs but tranny doesn't get invloved. I'd release the pedal and just roll for a couple of sec and push again and it'd be fine.
well, it's been over a yr now, and i find it doing it almost every time I drive it. it happens when engine is cold and when it's at normal op temp (I'm in Dallas, car warms up very fast). Most of the time it happens on the ramp getting on the highway and speeding up on the hightway but mostly in that range.

I haven't had any warning lights come on or engine lights... starts everytime, even in the winter. I change oil myself every 3,500 (Castrol GTX 5w30 with AcDelco filter). Tranny oil is still from the factory.

so one day it wouldn't pull while going up a steep ramp and tried releasing and pushing the gas pedal as always but the engine just died. I was able to pull over to the shoulder... switched to neutral and SOB started just fine!

I tried scanning the computer, but the scanner can't seem to establish a connection (keeps telling me to plugin the cable).

I'll take the dash apart this week to check if I forgot to connect the OBDII jack back after I run the fog light switch from the dash into fusebox.